Williamson, Rouse, Reid, Olivieri, and Begolo Claim Humberstone Checkers

Sep 20, 2021 | Headlines, News, Results

PHOTO: Mat Williamson alongside girlfriend Natalie in victory lane at Humberstone (Alex and Helen Bruce)

PORT COLBORNE, ONTARIO (September 19, 2021) 2019 Big-Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series Champion Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up his first win of the season in the Rick’s Delivery 358 Modifieds as GR Enviro Rail presented the Sunday night racing program at the Humberstone Speedway. Williamson’s victory makes the third different winner in three appearances in 2021 for the Modifieds at the historic Port Colborne speedplant. Brad Rouse from Ft Erie, Ontario won his second Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil DIRTcar Sportsman feature of the season. Pete Reid from Welland, Ontario became the first repeat winner in the GR Enviro Rail Street Stocks. It was Reid’s second straight feature win. Third-generation driver Fabio Olivieri from Ancaster, Ontario won his first Dow Auto Supply Mini Stock feature of the season. Brent Begolo from Thorold, Ontario led a JSR Racing 1-2 finish by winning his first Mod Lite feature of the season.

Racing continues next Sunday, September 26 with the Late Models joining the 358 Modifieds, DIRTcar Sportsman, Street Stocks, and Mini Stocks. Racing will begin at 6:30 pm with tickets only being available at the gates.

The stock car portion of the schedule will come to an end with a two-day event on October 1 and 2. October 1 will feature the Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Cars as well as the Action Sprint Tour, plus a $1000 to win event for the Sportsman. The Street Stocks will race for $750 to win and the Mini Stocks will race for $500 to win. Then on October 2, the 358 Modifieds headline the Fall Classic, plus Sportsman, Late Models, Street Stocks, and Mini Stocks.

For more information, visit www.humberstonespeedway.ca or follow the speedway on social media.


Rick’s Delivery 358 Modifieds: MAT WILLIAMSON, Mike Bowman, Gary Lindberg, Fred Carleton, Chad Chevalier, Darren Peters, Austin Wood, Todd Gordon, Mark D’ilario, Tommy Flannigan, Scott Wood, Tyler Willard, Shayne Pierce, Dylan Davidson, Derek VanMil, Tanner Podwinski, Glenn Styres, Tom Neale, Boyd MacTavish, Cody McPherson

Qualifying Heats: Mat Williamson, Scott Wood, Gary Lindberg

Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil DIRTcar Sportsman: BRAD ROUSE, James Friesen, Cody McPherson, Adam Leslie, Dave Flannigan Jr, Greg Panunte, Jay Mallory, Mitch Dumont, Rob Knapp, Matt Sharpe, Billy Bleich, Curtis Friesen, Tyler Puchalski, Jeff Panunte, Dan Ferguson, Travis Miller, Emily Puchalski, Daniel McKay, Terry Smith, Bill Gill, John Babion, Justin Sharp

Did Not Start: Nathan Peattie, Luke Carleton

Qualifying Heats: Matt Sharpe, James Friesen, Cody McPherson

GR Enviro Rail Street Stocks: PETE REID, Jason Fontaine, Ryan Dinning, Spencer Smolders, Mike Thorne, Kyle Wert, Bryce Richardson, Barry Beck Jr, Adam Plazek, Go Fast Teeple, Jim Lampman, Jeff Bean, Kevin Sharpe, Shawn Jones, Fabio Olivieri, Dave Bailey, Robbie General

Qualifying Heats: Ryan Dinning, Dave Bailey

Dow Auto Supply Mini Stocks: FABIO OLIVIERI, Craig Vlasic, Olivier Larocque, Mike Sarantakos, Braden Keus, Vincent Pagnotta, John Lubeck, Jordan Denobriga, Danny Wurster, Sam Iftody

Qualifying Heats: Craig Vlasic, John Lubeck

Mod Lites: BRENT BEGOLO, Josh Sliter, Jeffery May, RJ Pietz, Sean Iftody, Randy Giroux, Dylan Sliter, Rob Misener, Ryan Anderson, Dave Cornish, Ryleigh Sliter, Adam Leslie, Tim Anderson, Tyler Winger, Shawn Sliter

Qualifying Heats: Brent Begolo, Shawn Sliter


About Humberstone Speedway: Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, call (905) 329-8028, visit us on Twitter @HumberstoneRace and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 89.9FM.



(Contact –– Steven Petty: stevenj.petty@gmail.com, Terry Vince – Humberstone Speedway: racehumberstonespeedway@gmail.com)