Tyler Willard Headlines Pete Cosco Memorial Winners at Humberstone Speedway

Aug 30, 2021 | Uncategorized

PHOTO: Tyler Willard with Linda Cosco after winning the Pete Cosco Memorial for the 358 Modifieds at Humberstone Speedway Sunday night (Alex and Helen Bruce Photo)

PORT COLBORNE, ONTARIO (August 29, 2021) Tyler Willard from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up what would be one of the biggest wins in his career Sunday night as he won the 40-lap Pete Cosco Memorial for the Rick’s Delivery Modifieds at the Humberstone Speedway. The victory earned Willard $3,017 for his efforts. Willard wasn’t the only family member to visit Pete Cosco Victory Lane, as Cody McPherson from St. Catharines, Ontario won the Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil DIRTcar Sportsman feature event, which paid $1,517 to win. Charlie Sandercock from Belleville, Ontario won the $1,517 to win race for the Pro Fabrication/Luke’s Racing Engines Late Models as part of the Northeast Late Model Alliance. Justin Ramsay from Belleville, Ontario won the GR Enviro Rail Street Stock feature that paid $817 to win. Austyn Werstroh from Niagara on the Lake, Ontario won his second feature of the season for the Dow Auto Supply Mini Stocks and collected $517 for his efforts.  

Before Sunday night, only Mike Bowman, Mat Williamson and Erick Rudolph have been victorious in the prestigious Pete Cosco Memorial for the Modifieds. In the end of the 40-lap event, it was Tyler Willard picking up the victory and the $3,017 payday that awaited him in Pete Cosco Victory Lane. Willard picked up the win over Fred Carleton, Gary Lindberg, Mat Williamson, and Chad Chevalier. Dylan Davidson, Pete Cosco’s grandson finished 11th in his Pete Cosco Haulage number 73.

Former track champion and Mr. DIRT titlist Cody McPherson took home the checkered flag in the main event for the Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil DIRTcar Sportsman. McPherson held off another track champion and Mr. DIRT Brad Rouse, with Adam Leslie, Justin Sharp, and Jay Mallory rounded out the top five. Pete Cosco’s grandson Jordan Cosco crossed the finish line in ninth place in his Pete Cosco Haulage sponsored number 17c.

The Northeast Late Model Alliance for the Late Models saw teammates battling for the win, and it was Charlie Sandercock picking up the victory. Last Sunday night’s feature winner Sam Pennacchio finished in third place, with Eli Mayhew and Adam Turner completing the top five.

Justin Ramsay and Austyn Werstroh are no strangers to victory lane at Humberstone. Ramsay, who has an All- Canadian Championship win to his credit picked up the win in the Street Stock feature over Pete Reid. Austyn Werstroh won his second Mini Stock feature of the season, holding off Tyler Lafantaisie and Leroy Buscumb.

Humberstone Speedway will return to action on Sunday, September 5th for the Labor Day Shootout, featuring the $1500 to win DIRTcar Sportsman feature. Joining the Sportsman will be the Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, and the second visit of the season by the Mod Lites. The program will get underway at 6:30 pm and tickets will only be available at the grandstand gates.


Rick’s Delivery Modifieds: TYLER WILLARD, Fred Carleton, Gary Lindberg, Mat Williamson, Chad Chevalier, Todd Gordon, Mark D’llario, Jay Mallory, Brent Begolo, Cody McPherson, Dylan Davidson, Jordan Peters, Shayne Pierce, Trevor Wright, Boyd MacTavish, Tom Neale, Mike Bowman, Derek VanMil, Tanner Podwinski, Brian Page, Austin Wood

Qualifying Heats: Chad Chevalier, Austin Wood, Mat Williamson

Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil DIRTcar Sportsman: CODY MCPHERSON, Brad Rouse, Adam Leslie, Justin Sharp, Jay Mallory, Dave Flannigan Jr, Greg Panunte, Billy Bleich Jr, Jordan Cosco, Tyler Puchalski, Terry Smith, Daniel McKay, Noah Mamo, Luke Carleton, Jason Farraway, John Babion, Ryan Ferri, Cameron Lane, Brandon Gruhl, Matt Sharpe, James Friesen, Jeff Panunte, Curtis Friesen, Emily Puchalski

Failed to Qualify: Dave Mamo, Bill Gill, Mitch Dumont

Qualifying Heats: Brandon Gruhl, Adam Leslie, James Friesen

B-Main: Billy Bleich Jr

Pro Fabrication/Luke’s Racing Engines Late Models: CHARLIE SANDERCOCK, Andrew Hennessy, Sam Pennacchio, Eli Mayhew, Adam Turner, Kyle Sopaz, John Pinsonneault, Rob Ledingham, Jim Dale Jr, Brett Hope, Austin King, Brandt Graham, Mike Lewis, Mike Greene, Rob Pietz, Tim Gillespie

Qualifying Heats: Rob Pietz, Charlie Sandercock

GR Enviro Rail Street Stocks: JUSTIN RAMSAY, Pete Reid, Craig Handley, Dave Bailey, Ryan Beagle, Ken Sargent, Christopher Hale, Jeff Larmet, Barry Beck Jr, Kevin Knapp, Bryce Richardson, Jim Lampman, Zach Bleich, Brandon Swinson, Jason Fontaine, Go, Fast Teeple, Rob Hoskins, Mike Thorne, Kevin Sharpe, Robert Disher, Jeff Bean

Qualifying Heats: Dave Bailey, Christopher Hale, Jason Fontaine

Dow Auto Supply Mini Stocks: AUSTYN WERSTROH, Tyler Lafantaisie Leroy Buscumb, Olivier Larocque, Kenny Hair, John Lubeck, Fabio Olivieri, Mark Bazuin, Randy Alway, Ray Cerenzia, Sam Iftody, Kevin Kocarik, Braden Keus, Kyle Rothwell, Mike Sarantakos

Qualifying Heats: Tyler Lafantaisie, Fabio Olivieri


About Humberstone Speedway: Humberstone Speedway is located just two miles East of Port Colborne on Highway 3, just 17 miles west of the US/Canadian Border at the Peace Bridge (Buffalo/Fort Erie). For more information, call (905) 329-8028, visit us on Twitter @HumberstoneRace and like us on Facebook. Don’t forget to bring your portable FM radios and listen to all the action on 89.9FM.



(Contact –– Steven Petty: stevenj.petty@gmail.com, Terry Vince – Humberstone Speedway: racehumberstonespeedway@gmail.com)